Archive
  >
This Month
Archive
Subscribe
Email:   >
Recommendation

Archive: Opinions

 

Autumn Crazy

by Kristina Cucci

more >

Want to be Alert and Clear Headed? Drink Tea!

by Diana Rosen

Tea is all over the news. It seems like nearly every week another study is released that proves the efficacy of tea as a beverage that can help fend off disease, increase brain activity, help bones and teeth, foster alertness, and add fire to physical performance. more >

2010: A Year in Tea

by William I. Lengeman III

Is tea finally poised to become the beverage of choice for Americans, a people who have long been enamored with the charms of that other hot drink? Well, hold the phone a minute, let's not get carried away. At least not yet. We can safely say, however, that 2010 was another great year for tea. One could even make the argument that for fans of high-quality loose-leaf tea, the past year was one of the best ever. more >

Coffee or tea, Santa?

by Samantha Cappuccino-Williams

Which hot beverage would be most appropriate for old Saint Nick? What to offer, what to offer... Hot apple cider is nice, but considering all Santa has to accomplish on Christmas Eve, sugary beverages and holiday cheer will only get him so far. Hot cocoa was right out, as milk is a soporific, not a stimulant. There's no denying it: Santa needs caffeine. Tea or coffee would be best, then. But is Kris Kringle a tea or coffee drinker? more >

Better Packaging Methods For Everyone

by Mikael Zaurov

As some of you may have noticed, we are undergoing a change in the way that our tea is packaged and presented to you. For 11 years now, we have packaged our tea in metal containers. Many of you have written to us saying that this is a great way to store tea, and we agree, but in our attempt to become more 'green' we have chosen to opt for a more environmentally friendly way of packing. We will still offer tin containers to you, in the Pantry section on the website, but all of our teas will soon come packaged in thin multi-layered stand up pouches. more >

The Meaning of Tea- A Film Review

by Jason Walker

Jason Walker of Walker Tea Review attended a screening of the documentary, The Meaning of Tea. This film takes the viewer throughout the world to show the importance of tea to those who grow, pick, and drink it. Please visit the film's website to order a DVD at http://www.themeaningoftea.com more >

The Association of Tea Bloggers: An Introduction

by Jason Walker

The Association of Tea Bloggers seek to share the knowledge they've gained through their passion for tea as well as answer questions about tea, teaware and review many popular brands of tea and take on quirky tea experiments. We're glad to have them join us for contributing articles for future TeaMuse.com articles. Come read what they are all about! more >

Online Tea Directory: A Guide to Good Tea

by Michael Cramer

Need to find an excellent tea room while on vacation? Or are you electing to stay closer to home, yet want to locate a tea room for something new to do on your 'staycation'? Find local tea establishments using our online directory. more >

Between the Leaves September 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: we bid adieu to Ms. Mary and she tells us what tea to pump when you feel the need for caffeine. more >

Between the Leaves August 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: those tricky little things...tannins in tea. more >

Between the Leaves July 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: The Shincha Question, how to name drop this tea in proper context. more >

Between the Leaves May 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: Mary avoids maid of honor meltdown by presenting some fun facts about tea and its role in weddings. more >

Between the Leaves April 2008

by Mary R.

Floaties and scum? more >

Between the Leaves March 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: debunking self-decaffeination. more >

Between the Leaves February 2008

by Mary R

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: February brings Valentine's Day. Is tea really an aphrodisiac?? more >

Between the Leaves January 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: New Year, New You. Debunking myths on tea and detoxing. more >

Between the Leaves: December 2008

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: What is the difference between non-Kosher and Kosher teas? more >

The Best and Worst in Tea 2007

by Christine Rillo

Each year brings many teas, tea products, teaware, and related items into the market. Christine Rillo will wrap up the year's best and worst tea-things in this year of 2007. more >

Between the Leaves: Stevia Rebaudiana

by Mary R

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: facts about the latest sweetener: Stevia Rebaudiana. more >

Hello Tea Connoisseurs!

by Christine Rillo

Hello Tea Connoisseurs! Our TeaMuse Christine gets ready for the holiday season. Check out her trip to Amai Tea and Bake House in the East Village, NYC as she speaks to owner Kelli Barnard about her fantastic tea treats. Are you ready for the holidays? more >

Monthly Musings, October 2007

by Christine Rillo

Check out teachef.com's new layout. Perhaps you will be inspired to cook up something tasty using one of our fabulous teas as an ingredient. Also, as the weather cools down, keep an eye out for our popular holiday teas. more >

Between the Leaves, October 2007

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: getting to the root of that 'hairy' problem after drinking white teas. more >

Monthly Musings, September 2007

by Christine Rillo

September brings a new column, Between the Leaves, new green flavored teas, restock of our popular utiliTEA variable temperature kettle. Check out also these chic and hip tea finds from Art of Tea. more >

Between the Leaves, September 2007

by Mary R.

Our resident TeaChat.com moderator and tea genius, Mary R. answers your tea questions monthly. This month: the ever asked, always debated on- second infusions. How many, how long between each steeping, and everything else you would want to know. more >

Coffee and Tea Expo 2007 NYC

by Christine Rillo

Tea noob Christine explores her first tea-industry experience at the New York City Coffee and Tea Festival. Among rubbing elbows with Adagio alum Chris Cason, she gets to taste a whole bunch of teas and treats. more >

Pay Tea Forward

by Amanda Schwarz

Teashop owner gives to all away and pays it forward. Catherine Ryan Hyde created the concept in her book of the same name. The idea is simple - someone does someone else a favor, and rather than requesting a favor in return, they request that a favor be done for someone else. This idea inspired Lisa Campbell to give her teashop away.

more >

The Best and Worst of 2006

by Amanda Schwarz

A review of some of the highlights and disappointments of 2006 in the world of tea. Amanda Schwarz lays it out in this fun list of the best and worse tea products of the year. more >

Tea Infused Treats

by Amanda Schwarz

A review of tea-infused confections currently on the market. Plenty of treats that include everyone's favorite drink! more >

Tea Leaf Experiments

by Amanda Schwarz

Is there life after infusion for the beloved tealeaf? What else can I use it for? Amanda Schwarz comes up with some daily uses for Camila sinensis. more >

10 Discoveries in 10 Days

by Amanda Schwarz

The first few days at a new job are always a bit harrowing more >

Oolong Tea: Covering the Basics

by Richard Goodness

We discuss oolong tea: facts and fiction about this popular tea more >

Black Tea: Covering the Basics

by Richard Goodness

We discuss black tea: its origin, its varieties, its caffeine. more >

A Different Aesthetic, or, Four Weeks With Tea

by Richard Goodness

Richard's summary of his first four weeks at Adagio Teas more >

Reading the Future of Tea

by Chris Cason

The magic of tea leaves unfolded more >

2005: A Year of Tea in Review, pt. 2

by Chris Cason

Looking back on the best tea products of 2005 more >

2005: A Year of Tea in Review, pt. 1

by Chris Cason

Looking back on the worst tea products of 2005 more >

Yerba Mate: New Herbal trends

by Chris Cason

Your passport to South American tea. more >

The Tea Bag: Let it Loose!

by Chris Cason

The pros and cons of loose and bagged tea, history of teabags and the future. more >

God Save the Queen...

by Chris Cason

...From The Erroneous Empire of English Tea more >

2004: Year of the Leaf

by Chris Cason

Ideas for 2004 to keep you happy, healthy and thirsty! more >

2003: Tea Year in Review

by Diana Rosen

More choices, better quality, and greater accessibility. more >

Bigelow Tea: A Recipe for Success

by Agnes Lynn-Worthy

The development of Constant Comment and mass-market appeal. more >

Tea with Madonna

by Michele Deppe

Celebrities and their love of tea. more >

Resolutions for a Beau-tea-full 2003

by Diana Rosen

Ideas to make 2003 a more more >

Another Good Year

by Diana Rosen
The very popular bubble teas from Taiwan. more >

The Tea-Totaler Program

by Kate Schultz
A non-drinker's guide to festive nightlife. more >

2001: A Fabulous Year for Tea

by Diana Rosen
Now's a good time to be a tea drinker. more >

The Future of Tea

by Wendy Rasmussen
Reading tea's (how to phrase it) tea leaves. more >

Tea Vow of Chastity

by Arizona Buddhist Militia
Rescuing tea from the cult of exoticism, decadence and habit. more >

Equal Opportunity Beverage

by Wendy Rasmussen
Tea's emergence from coffee shadow and Victorian ghetto. more >

A Nice Cup of Tea

by George Orwell
Eleven golden rules on taking tea, from the author of Animal Farm and 1984. more >

Great Tea: An Endangered Species

by Wendy Rasmussen
The dwindling supply of tea worth caring about. more >

How 'Bout a Nice Cuppa' Pill?

by Ric Rhinehart
Interested in tea's health benefits? Forsake the pills for a nice cuppa. more >